The longer the veggies and fruit soak, the more pesticide residue is removed. However, homemade vegetable wash made with water, vinegar, and lemon juice is a safe and effective option for cleaning vegetables. 7 Non-Toxic Cleaning Recipes That Really Work covers seven recipes that you can make in just a few minutes each for squeaky clean windows, sparkling dinnerware, lemon-fresh countertops, and more. The point is, we’re big fans of fresh produce over here. I first learned this easy trick from friends that had lived mostly overseas ~ my dietitian friend from the Philippines as well as my friend that lives over in West Africa have used this trick for years, and absolutely swear by it! Become an Insider! Grrrr. Judy writes: “That’s how I wash mine and I’m a farmer. });